A classic wooden rollercoaster from 1920...
|Audience||Older Families and Thrillseekeers|
|Opened||18 June 1920|
|Manufacturer||Harry C Baker|
|Max Speed||45 mph|
|Designer||John A Miller|
Jack Rabbit is the oldest of Kennywood's operating rollercoasters, having first opened at the amusement park in 1920.
The woodie was designed by John A Miller and featured his then-new underfriction wheel technology that clamped the train to the track and allowed for steeper hills such as Jack Rabbit's 70ft drop.
Along with the drop, the coaster features a superbly fun and forceful double down after the lift hill, plus a tunnel over the first turnaround section. The double down is undoubtedly the highlight of the ride, providing an astonishing amount unexpected of ejector airtime.
Similarly to Thunderbolt, Jack Rabbit's lift hill comes part way through the ride rather than straight after the station.
It is an amazing testament to the talents of John A Miller, Harry C Baker and their team that over a century on from its opening, Jack Rabbit still ranks highly in the annual Golden Ticket Awards list of the world's best wooden rollercoasters. Despite its age, it is one of the must-do rollercoasters on offer at Kennywood.
Jack Rabbit's station
A train full of riders sets off from the station
Passing the queueline
First drop leading toward the tunnel
Climbing a hill
Front of the orange train
The green train carries another load of riders
Green and blue trains in the station